What are the Names and Movements of Chess Pieces?

What are the Names and Movements of Chess Pieces?


Chess is known as a game that requires strategy and intelligence, a game that has fascinated and made people think for thousands of years. This ancient game requires deep tactical thinking as well as skillful movement of the pieces. Chess is an excellent option for those who want to do brain training. In this article, we will examine in detail the names of the pieces and their movements in the game of chess. From pawns to queens, rooks to knights, each piece has its own special movement abilities. Our aim is to teach readers how pieces move in chess and help them develop their strategic thinking skills. After reading this article, you will be able to make more confident and strategic decisions when using chess pieces and enjoy the game more. Let's step into the world of chess together and unlock the secrets of the pieces. At the beginning of the game, each player has 16 pieces. These consist of a king, a queen, two rooks, two bishops, two knights and eight pawns.

Pawn 8 pieces


In chess, the Pawn is one of the most common and important pieces on the chessboard. They can move one square in the direction of advance or two squares in the first move. If it has moved two squares in its first move and is standing next to an opponent's pawn, the opponent's pawn can then pass it.

For the eating move, a pawn cannot eat an opponent's piece over other pieces, it can eat them on the square where they are.

When they move to the corner, they can turn into any piece such as queen, rook, knight or bishop on their next move.

Queen 1 piece



The Queen is one of the most powerful pieces in the game of chess. The queen can move vertically, horizontally or diagonally to an unlimited number of squares.

Rook 2 pieces



In chess, a Rook can move vertically or horizontally to an unlimited number of squares. However, it cannot move past other pieces to reach the square in the opposite corner.

Bishop : 2 pieces



In chess, the Bishop can move diagonally to an unlimited number of squares. They are located on only white or only black squares of the board. Therefore, a bishop stays on the squares of a player's chosen color.

Knight : 2 pieces



In chess, the Knight, unlike other pieces, moves in an L-shape. It moves two squares forward and one square to the right or left, or one square forward and two squares to the right or left. While doing so, it can jump over other pieces.

King: 1 piece



In chess, the King is the player's most valuable piece. It can move only one square vertically, horizontally or diagonally. The king can change direction to evade an opponent's attack, or it can be protected by its own pieces. There is a special move called 'castling', a specific place where the king can move in any direction before being mated.

Strategy and tactics are also very important in chess. As the game progresses, it is important to learn more in depth about how to use pieces and how to evaluate positions.

Post a Comment